Other Stories: Sanity

First and foremost, I want to apologize to all of you for posting this late. I’ll explain what happened – and it had nothing to do with school, my car or my life.

Well, not entirely.

I actually meant to post something completely different for this portion of my story-line but as I was reading it and re-reading it and letting it flow from my mind to my computer and ultimately to this blog site, it became clear to me that someone other than me would see how wrong the post would have been.

In no way do I want anyone to think that I’m making this into some far-fetched horror or sci-fi story. That isn’t what this is about. I have plenty of other stories on the side and posts here for that.

I wanted this to be as realistic as possible, which is ironic considering my current topic and state of mind as I write this. So I want to assure you that although my next post (which was supposed to be this one) may sound completely … well I’ve lost the word for it but I hope you get the gist of this. There are no ghosts, no vampires, no werewolves, no demons, no anything supernatural or paranormal aside from whatever the characters themselves manifest because of their conditions.

I will also apologize for the brevity of this post. I was hoping to have more than I do (I try to type up three Word pages per post) but this was all that would come out. Maybe it will tie in or maybe I will have to use another post to do that.

Today’s picture is from the Saint Louis Health, Detox, And Family Therapy Offices located at http://www.centreccare.com/about/OurFacility.aspx. I’m trying to refrain from posting pictures that contain people unless they are caricatures, clip art or drawing of fictitious persons.

I hope you enjoy.


The early Wednesday morning sun peeked sleepily over the horizon and found the scheduled ingress of nurses, orderlies, and doctors, each holding cups of coffee or other hot, caffeinated drink, some talking, but all trying to get ready for the weekly staff meeting.

Dr. Sebastian Thomas, head of Psychiatry at the facility, was already there, as was Maureen, his secretary. Dr. Thomas was seated at the ‘head’ of the conference table going over notes for last minute information he was going to give to his staff. Maureen was making sure everyone had the proper notes for today’s meeting along with making sure there were plenty of refreshments for everyone (including herself) and that all equipment was functioning properly.

Although there were no assigned seats and the conference table was round, each person sat in their usual spots and waited patiently for Dr. Thomas to begin the meeting.

“Good morning, ladies and gentlemen. I hope you’ve had a good week so far. You’ll forgive our detour from our regular format, but I believe there are a few items of importance that we will need to address first – one in particular that has our Board of Directors very concerned.”

There was a soft murmuring through the staff as they each started reading over the agenda.

“It appears that our resident celebrity has garnered our facility a bit of … notoriety that has our legal team tearing out their hair. Would anyone like to comment?” He turned his attention first to Dr. Monisht then panned his eyes over the nurses and orderlies that were assigned to Marcus’ wing of the complex.

When no one spoke, he continued. “Somehow, this past week someone at our facility took it upon themselves to contact TMZ and talk to them about extremely confidential information. Now, I will admit that when our Board and legal team called me in to let me know about this, I had little to no idea what TMZ is, aside from overhearing bits and pieces of conversation from all of you and the other staff in the other sections. But, it has been all over the Internet that Marcus Williams is currently a patient and he was involved in an altercation with another patient here. Thankfully, the identity of that other patient was not divulged. Our legal department is currently in contact with this … media corporation to cease all disclosure of information regarding Mr. Williams and our facility as long as Mr. Williams is a patient here.”

“And you believe that someone in this room is responsible for their access to this information?” Dr. Monisht’s heavily accented voice asked.

“I believe someone in this facility is responsible, Bami. Rest assured the other departments will be going through this question and answer session at our regularly scheduled meetings. However, if we don’t find out who did this and why, our legal team will be doing one on one sessions with us in order to appease the Board.”

“I guess we should be thankful that Val wasn’t mentioned in this article. I don’t know how much exposure she has to TMZ or any other outside source, but this could add to her current regression.” Dr. Summers stated as she continued reading over the article.

“Unfortunately, Claire, I’m not thankful for anything. I haven’t had a chance to talk to Ms. Valencia as of late, exactly how much regression are we talking about?”

Dr. Summers opened up her own notebook and scanned over her observations. “We had been making a bit of progress, talking about her addiction to video games as a means of escapism. I thought it was a break-through and was going to start talking to her about her daughter at the next session.”

“I take it that didn’t happen?”

“No. She created this Krystal person as a means of hiding from the reality of her situation. Although it isn’t uncommon for those suffering from this type of addiction to use this type of defense, I’m at a loss because this name isn’t associated with any of the games we were told she had played. Also this name nor any variation of it is used in the game she was playing when her daughter died.”

“So she hadn’t been using this form of escapism long?”

“No. It only manifested … about a month ago.”

“That is around the time Mr. Williams arrived here.” Dr. Thomas stated. “Could it be that Enriquetta…?”

“Val.”

“I’m sorry, yes. Val. Maybe she created this to shield herself from Mr. Williams?” He turned to Dr. Monisht.

“I do not believe that could have occurred.”

“I agree.” Dr. Summers added. “Although our records show that Mr. Williams had been admitted around that same time, they had little to no knowledge of each other. No interaction.”

“Marcus’ schedule at that time would have prohibited even concurring lunch schedules. His first week with us included meetings with his attorney and probation officer.” Dr. Monisht concluded.

“We’ll return to possible treatments we can utilize for Ms. Valencia in a moment, Claire. We’ve gotten off-track of what this meeting is for today.”

Leave a Reply

