Short Stories: Savior

I’m sorry to say that I don’t remember where exactly I found the picture for this, but when I searched again, the caption for it said examiner.com. If anyone knows this is incorrect please let me know. I want to give credit to whoever did this.

Thank you and enjoy!

===============================================================================

The woman took off her backpack and leaned it against a boulder that was the only real break in the scenery. She then sat next to it, leaned back against rock and looked up at her companion.

“Are you sure it’s safe to rest here?”

She smiled up at him as he mimicked her previous motions, but instead he leaned up against a fallen log that sat across from the boulder. Looking around, he noticed how different and the same everything seemed to be. Right now, the only difference between where they had been a minute ago and now were two boulders and the fallen log.

“Well, considering where we are, no, not really. But so far nothing bad’s ever happened.”

“I mean are we going to be safe to sleep here.”

She thought for a moment. “You don’t really need sleep.”

“Then … why did we stop?”

“I’m not sure where else to go. I have no direction anymore. So I’m waiting.”

He looked around at the same scenery that he had been looking at the entire time. “So, we don’t sleep. I’m guessing we don’t eat.”

She lowered her eyes hoping he didn’t catch the fear in her eyes. “Nope. None of anything that we did when we were alive. Don’t dwell on it too much.”

“Why not?”

“Because it’ll become a torture and you’ll get lost again because this will change into your Hell.”

He looked down. “I think I’m hungry.”

“Still used to where you were before?”

He shrugged. “Probably, it’s just a feeling in the pit of my stomach. Something’s off.”

“Ok.”

“Should I hunt?”

“No. I wouldn’t recommend eating anything from here. If you really think you’re hungry, you might have something in your pack.”

He grabbed and started rummaging through his backpack. “Why can’t we eat anything from here?”

“I’m guessing it has something to do with the legend.”

“What legend?”

“The Greek myth about Demeter, Persephone and winter.”

“Greek myths here?”

“You’d be surprised how much truth there are in myths, and how much has been forgotten over the centuries. I guess you don’t read a lot of stories?” She added when he gave her a blank look”

Well, I’m on the road a lot.”

She nodded. “Yeah. Concert tours …”

“You know who I am?”

“And who you were.”

He grinned and she laughed.

“I remember parts of your Hell, and I think I really liked one of your songs.”

“Thanks.”

“Music … is a life-saver … no matter what kind. You should keep that in mind.”

He looked slightly surprised. “It’s what keeps me going.”

She smiled and looked down.

“Ok. Well, you know me, who are you? Or … who were you?”

She raised her head and looked over his shoulder, tilted her head and thought about it. “Um … I think at one time my name was Karen.”

He went back to rummaging. “At one time. You’ve been dead awhile?”

Karen shrugged. “I don’t know. Time really is a man-made conception. Here things run differently. In Heaven too.”

He pulled out something that didn’t look familiar to either of them. “Is … this what I can eat?” He looked back at her and laughed when she shrugged. “Well, all right then.”

“Things will come to you, you’ll see.” She leaned her head back against the rock and closed her eyes as he tasted and then ate what he found.

“So, tell me about this legend.”

Her voice was soft and sounded slightly sleepy as she spoke.

It was said that Hades fell in love with and abducted Persephone, took her into the Underworld. Demeter became distraught and, since she’s the goddess of the harvest, pretty much made everything die – that’s how winter came about. It got so bad that Zeus had to get involved – I think.

Anyway, Hades agreed reluctantly to let her go, but before he did offered her food for her trip. All the time she was there, Persephone refused to eat or drink anything, but the thought of being reunited with her mother brought her such joy that she ate seven seeds.

When Demeter found out, she was distraught again and told her daughter that because of this, she would be forced to live in the Underworld one month for every seed. So basically, during these months when Persephone is in the Underworld, Demeter releases winter and we have summer when Persephone returns.

He was quiet for a moment as he thought about what she said. Somehow it sounded familiar, and not just due to it being a Greek myth. Bright piercing eyes stared out ahead of him and seemed to move over phantom figures her story created but otherwise didn’t take in anything. After a moment, he broke the silence. “Wow, yeah I … think I heard that story before. But that’s amazing. So basically, even if you rescue me, if I eat anything I can’t get out?

When he looked over at the woman, she was asleep.

===============================================================================

Previous Chapter                  ©2015 Dazrahe / Deborah McCarthy                          Next Chapter

3 thoughts on “Short Stories: Savior

Leave a Reply

