Short Stories: Savior

Here is the continuation of my short story. Again, it’s not supposed to be my take on religion or trying to tell people this is what it is. It’s just a story and it’s fiction.

The picture for this, as you may or may not have guessed, is from dreamstime.com. Not sure if you can click on the picture to get to the page, but all the information on it is on the picture.

I hope you enjoy it.

===============================================================================

They walked in silence for a while, her in front, him behind splitting his attention between where she was going and the ticket in his hand. It didn’t figure, no matter what he did he couldn’t remember. He would have been muttering the entire time if the dead silence didn’t aggravate him so much.

“So, what exactly did I do that was so bad that I got a one-way ticket to Hell?” He finally conceded.

She turned and looked at him, and for a moment he could have sworn there was no recognition in her eyes. Her head tilted slightly to the side as she looked at and then through him.

“Um … are you ok?”

The woman smiled. “I honestly don’t know what happened or what you did that you were sent here. It’s never told to me and I never ask. Besides, it’s not really my business.” They were still walking, but she slowed down so that they now walked side-by-side.

“I honestly can’t think of what I ever did. I thought I was a good person.”

“I’m sure you were. But you’d be surprised what constitutes being sent here. God’s rules aren’t man’s rules. Man only thinks he knows what God wants and doesn’t want. Sometimes the most pious men come here and the wicked go to Heaven.” She shrugged

“So, I could have gone to Heaven, and gotten kicked out?”

She grinned. “Um, it doesn’t exactly work that way.”

“But it is possible to get kicked out of Heaven?”

“Well, not like you think. But the way I understand it, if you really mess up, and I mean mess up badly, you get sent back to Earth to try again and hopefully learn from your mistakes.”

“Like reincarnation?”

“Something like that – it’s the easiest way to describe it.”

“Hmm. Ok. But I got sent here.”

‘This is going to take a while.’ She thought. “I’ve only ever heard of one person being sent here directly from Heaven.”

“You mean the Devil?”

“Lucifer, yes. You know, you may have been lured?” She hoped this would work.

“What does that mean?”

“Not everyone who leaves Hell is rescued or good.” She raised her hands up and emphasized the words with her fingers. “Those who leave on their own accord are the extremely evil. I don’t think they’re even human anymore. They get sent back to Earth to send people down here. Almost like what I’m doing.”

“Ok. Wait. So, demons, shit like that, evil people, they get sent up to Earth?”

“If they prove themselves that bad here, yes.”

“To … recruit?”

“Not exactly. They convince people to do something against God, and then those people get sent here. The demon stays on Earth and keeps going to their next victim.”

“And what you’re doing … how did you manage that?”

He watched her look off into the distance. Her eyes clouded over as she tried to think of a time before now. It took a bit, but she finally responded. “I remember a Sunday school class I attended when I was a girl. The teacher asked us what we would do if we died and went up to Heaven. I raised my hand and told him that I knew that when I died and went to Heaven, I would tell them that I would give up my spot for the next person who wouldn’t otherwise be able to get in.”

“And that’s why you’re here?”

She smiled and nodded her head, the motion making her resemble a young girl rather than the older woman he saw her to be.

“And all I have to do is walk back the way we came from?”

“Yup, just turn around and keep walking up. Michael or Gabriel will meet you to take you the rest of the way.”

“Michael … and Gabriel. You mean the Arch Angels.”

She thought about it for a moment, and he saw her eyes light up. “Yes.”

“Well, what if I decide I want to stay with you?”

“Why would you want that?”

“Well, you’re here and doing some good. I can do that too. It feels right.” He blushed brightly when he turned to her. She looked like she welled up with pride at what he said.

“Is that what you think? Or is it what you feel?”

He stopped walking for a bit. “You know more than you’re letting on.”

She stopped as well, took a deep breath and looked down at that path. For a moment it seemed to him that she was busy battling whether she should or shouldn’t be doing or saying something. After a moment, she just looked up at him and smiled.

===============================================================================

Previous Chapter                 ©2015 Dazrahe / Deborah McCarthy                          Next Chapter

3 thoughts on “Short Stories: Savior

Leave a Reply

